Waiting patiently to start my holiday …

Well, here we are. After months of deliberation, i have finally decided to start blogging.

Let’s start with where we are today. I’m sitting in Vienna waiting for five-and-a-half hours for my husband to wake up and drive us to my promised holiday in Portofino. It all started a few month ago, when his cousin was talking about celebrating her 50th birthday in Nice. We’d been to Nice in 2008 and loved it, so we decided to attend her birthday celebration and extend the trip to Portofino, as we did not have enough time for Portofino in 2008.

Then she decided against celebrating her birthday – i guess she decided she was not ready to announce her age to the whole wide world. (I understand the feeling!) No harm, we decided to forgo Nice but continue with Portofino and the Italian Riviera.

I arrived in Vienna last Friday, on 13th August and, for a combination of reasons, we have not left on the holiday i was looking forward to. Sure, we’ve done different things around here, but I’ve been to Austria so many times and with family around it’s really not “holiday”. I finally decided yesterday that this was it, we were going to go TODAY (i.e. yesterday) because I am scheduled to fly back to Singapore on 27th August and there is just no time left!

Well, dear husband decided that he had to spend more time with his family so let’s do a family dinner and we’ll leave tomorrow, i.e. TODAY. No problem, i can compromise.  We did the family dinner and, towards the tail-end of the evening, while they were sitting around, I started washing up and cleaning up the kitchen. My husband is the sort who would spend hours cleaning up (yes, I’m one of the lucky few) and, knowing how these family affairs last long into the wee hours, I didn’t want him to end up not getting enough sleep. I went to bed around midnight, and was woken up at 3:30 a.m. by his fussing around in the kitchen. His mother had just left at 3:00 a.m. (she lives next door) and he had put away the furniture, tidied up the garden, and was washing up the remaining glasses, cleaning the wax from the candlesticks and that sort of stuff. I made my comment about how he should just do the minimum and go to bed so we would be ready to leave in the morning.

Waking up at 7:30 a.m. I started getting ready for the trip. After i’d packed and showered and was dressing, dear husband informed me that he had not slept all night. He then went to bed and promptly fell asleep.

You can guess what sort of feelings and bad thoughts were running through my head then. What’s a woman to do? I decided to check my e-mail, do my Internet reading … then got bored and decided to vent on this blog. Hey, i’d had a blog set up months ago and never started writing, and was seriously contemplating what to write these past few weeks, so this seemed as good a topic as any.

Next post i’ll let you know what happens with the rest of my holiday ….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

